Talented juvenile BOOMSARA has been shortlisted for the 2YO of the Year award ahead of the upcoming 2018 UBET Queensland Thoroughbred Awards to be held in Brisbane on Sunday, September 16.

The Spirit of Boom gelding, who has returned to the Munce Racing stables this week to commence his three-year-old preparation, is one of five horses in the running for the award in recognition of his outstanding two-year-old season.

BOOMSARA won two races from six starts as a two-year-old, including the $250,000 QTIS Two-Year-Old Jewel at the Gold Coast, and was also placed in the Group 2 Sires Produce Stakes and the Group 3 Ken Russell Memorial.

Horse of the Year trophies will be awarded for two-year-olds, three-year-olds, four years and older, plus the 2018 UBET Queensland Thoroughbred of the Year award.

The 2018 UBET Queensland Thoroughbred of the Year will be chosen from all nominees across the three equine categories.

Tickets are on sale now and can be purchased by following the links on the Racing Queensland website www.racingqueensland.com.au. Tickets for the Thoroughbred Awards Ceremony are available to all industry participants and the general public, however early bookings are essential.


Featured Nominees

Queensland Jockey of the Year

Jim Byrne
Robbie Fradd
Jeff Lloyd
Matthew McGillivray

Queensland Trainer of the Year

Ben Currie
Toby Edmonds
Tony Gollan
Robert Heathcote

Queensland Apprentice of the Year

Jag Guthmann-Chester
Taylor Marshall
Michael Murphy
Boris Thornton

4YO and Older Horse of the Year

Crack Me Up
I’m A Rippa
Most Important
Savanna Amour

3YO Horse of the Year

Another Dollar

2YO Horse of the Year

Ef Troop
Granny Red Shoes
Outback Barbie

Also awarded on the night will be:

Breeding Awards – Sponsored by Thoroughbred Breeders Queensland

  • Queensland Broodmare of the Year
  • Queensland Stallion of the Year
  • Champion First Season Stallion
  • Champion 2YO Stallion

Premiership Awards

  • Country Premiership Jockey
  • Country Premiership Trainer
  • Provincial Premiership Jockey
  • Provincial Premiership Trainer
  • Metropolitan Premiership Jockey
  • Metropolitan Premiership Trainer
  • Stewards Award

Horses of the Year

  • QTIS Horse of the Year (Prizemoney)
  • Country Horse of the Year
  • Provincial Horse of the Year

Apprentice Awards

  • Country Apprentice of the Year
  • Provincial Apprentice of the Year
  • Metropolitan Apprentice of the year

Hall of Fame

  • Horse
  • Jockey
  • Trainer
  • Associate

Pin It on Pinterest